Grateful for Po-Boys

Random people eating the deliciousness that is a po-boy. I hope it was fried shrimp.

There are so many things I love about this time of year, and since moving to New Orleans yet another thing has been added to that list: the Po-Boy Festival.

For those of you who have not had a po-boy (or, god forbid, haven’t heard of one), I truly feel sorry for you.

I did not know what I was missing until I had my first po-boy at last year’s preservation festival.  I have since had a great many a po-boy and heartily recommend the festival to any and all po-boy lovers.  I am getting hungry just thinking about it.

Last Sunday was the 6th annual Oak Street Po-Boy Preservation Festival and thanks to some ingenious maneuvering that morning, Mama Hope had a table full of butcher paper and pens!  Taking inspiration from a street outreach in San Francisco, we had people drawing, writing, and generally miming (if their hands were full of po-boys and beer) what they were grateful for.

Smiling faces abound and a LOT of text on our butcher paper. That is actually the SECOND eight foot sheet we went through with me looking a little harried on the left there.

I have to say that Sunday was purely a joyful day.

People were grateful for some of the most amazing things.  I had one woman tell me about her brother who miraculously survived a disease that had a 99.9% mortality rate, and how he had just returned to work.  I had one man tell me he was grateful to turn 40, and a child write down school and draw a flower around it. Absolutely adorable.

Most people were grateful for their family or friends and quite a few were grateful for beer (of which there was plenty abound!).  And even more amazing than that, so many people were simply grateful for somebody asking them what they were thankful for.  It brought smiles and laughs to people’s faces, and of course some donations to bring water to Kisumu.

There is so much I am grateful for this holiday season.  First and foremost is this opportunity: being given a chance to do what I have wanted to for years has been beyond amazing.  I am grateful for even being afforded the opportunity to understand how grateful I am for things people in the developed world have taken for granted, like water.

And most of all I am grateful for all of you, for being such a strong support system while I follow my dreams, especially since I am now more than a third of the way to my Thanksgiving goal!!

This Thanksgiving, help me turn the wine on our dinner tables to water for the people in Kisumu, Kenya.  Just ONE bottle of wine can bring FIVE people water for lifeDonate the cost of a single bottle of wine this Thanksgiving!

One thought on “Grateful for Po-Boys

  1. Pingback: Gratefulness | Mama Maji

Leave a Reply

